One Chance Firsts

Dr. Ruby Dunlap’s Uganda Fulbright Blog
Our frontyard.JPG The hour of reckoning, the day of doom, must elicit a look on the human face which is among those things transcending place or time. We arrived at Uganda Christian University at the end of the first week of final exams and just before the beginning of the second week when pen to paper or mouse to screen stand in as prototypes for that Apocalyptic opening of books.

As a Belmont nursing instructor, I recognized that look immediately. Something about the tension around the eyes and the furrow in the brow tells the story. Students, alone or in groups, huddled around the campus with wrinkled wads of notes in urgent study sessions, perhaps testimony to books which had too long been unopened.

We had smoothly descended to Entebbe amidst towering black clouds in which lightening flickered. A young Ugandan sitting across the aisle from us said it was the start of rainy season, August through December. He, a theology student at a Catholic university near Chicago, was returning to Uganda for a short visit with his family. Subsequent encounters with Ugandans these past few days have reinforced the first impression he gave us of his people: warm friendliness, soft-spoken courtesy, and the musical lilt and roll of East African English.

There is only one chance for a first impression but first impressions are not created ex nihilo nor are they one way. We would give as well as receive first impressions over the next few days. “Most of the world thinks of Americans as arrogant and shallow,” a speaker at the Fulbright orientation in Washington D.C. told a large group of this year’s Fulbrighters, “and you will either affirm or challenge that belief.”